Finland and its Forests

Situated above the Arctic Circle, Finland is covered with thick forest, mainly of pine trees, which stretch for kilometers. The forest occupies a special place in the heart of the Finnish. Since the earliest times, we've appreciated and respected it. This attitude towards the forest has been transmitted from generation to generation and even today the Finns are lovers of their forests. Over the centuries forests have played a central role in the development of the Finnish economy.

Finnish forests are an ecological environment of such cleanliness that breathing becomes a real pleasure. Added to this is ta reign of silence that helps achieve a certain inner peace. The exceptional qualities of Finnish pine make it a unique building material whose value is comparable to gold. Therefore people have a responsible attitude towards the forest. Cutting down trees in the wild is forbidden, and for every cut down tree the owner must replant a new one.

Of their own initiative, independent owners form associations through which they manage the replacement of felled trees. Finnish pine and fir, woods recognized for their exceptional qualities as a building material, specifically grow in this forest type and in accordance with the highest European standards, authentic wooden houses are built with this type of material.


Types of Finnish Wood

Lumber

Massive

This is a very well-known contruction material. It is manufactured with high precision specialized equipment in order to obtain perfect lines and correct sizes. This is an ecological and wholesome material that allows for a good balance between humidity and oxygen levels, therefore creating a healthy and pleasant microclimate inside the home.

Laminated

Laminated lumber is a high quality machined material which conserves its shape even after construction is completed, and it doesn't crack. It has a superior durability thanks to a special bonding technology, and also has an excellent degree of surface finish. Furthermore the phenomenon of contraction in its height is very limited (only 1-2 %). It is also quicker to assemble.

Logs

Whole

A log house makes one think of a house in fairy tales. Furthermore, it doesn't harm the environment.

Laminated

Laminated log is one of the most modern materials used in the construction of wooden houses. It combines all the qualities of laminated timber calibrated with the charm of the traditional log.

Pine

Dried Kelo Pine "Mort Sur Pied"

It is a building material produced by hand/made by craftsmen. It is distinguished by its beautiful silver color, an original texture, and a strong pine smell. The main advantages of this wood are that its appearance changes very little over time, it is environmentally friendly, and it has a very low moisture content. This results in an almost total absence of the contraction phenomenon.

Golden Pine

After cleaning the trunk with a powerful water jet, the wood takes on a golden hue, hence the name golden pine. With this technique, only the top layer of the bark is removed thus the wood retains all of its natural protective properties and remains resistant to the most extreme weather conditions.

Some Examples

Back to Top

La Finlande et ses Forêts

La Finlande située au-dessus du cercle polaire est couverte d’épaisses forêts, principalement constituées de pins, qui s’étendent sur des kilomètres. La forêt occupe une place particulière dans le cœur des finlandais. Depuis les temps les plus reculés on l’apprécie et on la respecte. Cette attitude vis-à-vis de la forêt s’est transmise de génération en génération et aujourd’hui encore les Finlandais sont des amoureux de leurs forêts. Au cours des siècles la forêt a joué un rôle central dans le développement de l’économie finlandaise.

Les forêts finlandaises constituent un environnement écologique d’une telle propreté que respirer devient un vrai plaisir. À cela s’ajoute le règne d’un silence qui permet d’atteindre une certaine paix intérieure. Les qualités exceptionnelles du pin finlandais en font un matériau de construction unique dont la valeur n’a rien à envier à l’or. Par conséquent les gens ont une attitude responsable envers la forêt. L’abattage sauvage est interdit, et pour tout arbre abattu le propriétaire doit en replanter un nouveau.

De leur propre initiative, des propriétaires indépendants se groupent en associations grâce auxquelles ils gèrent le remplacement des arbres abattus. Le pin et le sapin finlandais, des bois reconnus pour leurs qualités exceptionnelles comme matériau de construction, poussent spécifiquement dans ce type de forêt et, en accord avec les critères européens les plus élevés, les maisons en bois authentiques sont construites avec ce type de matériau.


Types de Bois Finlandais

Le Madrier

Massif

Le madrier massif est un matériau de construction très connu. On le fabrique avec un équipement spécialisé de haute précision afin d’obtenir des lignes parfaites et des tailles correctes. C’est un matériau écologique et sain qui permet de conserver un bon équilibre entre le taux d’humidité et le niveau d’oxygène dans la maison, créant ainsi un microclimat confortable à l’intérieur.

Contre-collé

C’est un matériau usiné de haute qualité qui conserve sa forme, même après la construction du bâtiment, et qui ne se fissure pas. Il possède une durabilité supérieure grâce à une technologie d’encollage spéciale et bénéficie aussi d’un excellent degré de finition de ses surfaces. En outre le phénomène de contraction dans sa hauteur est très limité (seulement 1-2%). Il est également plus rapide à assembler.

Le Rondin

Massif

Une maison en rondins fait davantage penser à une maison de contes de fées. De plus elle ne nuit pas à l’environnement.

Contre-collé

Le rondin contrecollé est l’un des matériaux les plus modernes utilisés dans la construction de maisons en bois. Il combine toutes les qualités du madrier contrecollé calibré avec le charme du rondin traditionnel.

Le Pin

Le Pin Kelo séché "mort sur pied"

C’est un matériau de construction produit de façon artisanale. Il se distingue par sa superbe couleur argentée, une texture originale et une forte odeur de pin. Les principaux avantages de ce bois sont le fait que son aspect change très peu avec le temps, qu’il est écologique et qu’il a un taux d’humidité très faible. Cela engendre une absence quasi-totale du phénomène de contraction.

Le Pin Doré

Après le nettoyage du tronc à l’aide d’un puissant jet d’eau, le bois prend une teinte dorée d’où son nom de pin doré. Avec cette technique, seule la couche supérieure de l’écorce est retirée, ainsi le bois conserve toutes ses qualités protectrices naturelles et demeure résistant aux conditions climatiques les plus sévères.

Quelques Exemples

Retour en haut de page